Published On: Thu, Nov 7th, 2019

UP govt compulsorily retires 7 DSP on graft charges

Lucknow: The Yogi Adityanath government in Uttar Pradesh gave compulsory retirement to seven Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) on charges of corruption.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath

All seven Provincial Police Service (PPS) officers were dismissed after the findings of the screening committee report and were given mandatory retirement.

The order for the retirement of these officers all the 50 years of age or above, was issued on Thursday.

Those given compulsory retirement are Assistant Commandant, PAC Agra Arun Kumar, Deputy SP Ayodhya – Vinod Kumar Rana, Deputy SP Agra – Narendra Singh Rana, Assistant Commandant PAC, Jhansi – Ratan Kumar Yadav, Assistant Commandant, PAC Sitapur – Tejvir Singh Yadav, Divisional officer Moradabad – Santosh Kumar Singh and Assistant Commandant, PAC Gonda – Tanveer Ahmad Khan.

“Following orders of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, the state government has given compulsory retirement to seven police officials on recommendations of a screening committee set up for the purpose,” Additional Chief Secretary, Home, Awanish Awasthi said.

They were not effectively discharging their duties and a number of probes were pending against them, the statement said.

The Adityanath government has in the last two years forcibly retired more than 200 officials and employees of various departments.

The government has also punished more than 400 officers and employees by suspending and demoting them. The state government took action against 169 officers of power department, 51 of home department, 37 of transport department, 36 of revenue department, 26 officers of basic education, 25 of panchayati raj, 18 of PWD, 16 of labour department, 16 of institutional finance department, 16 of commercial tax, 16 of entertainment tax department, 15 of rural development and 11 officers of forest department.

Chief Minister Adityanath has said on several occasions that officers who under-perform are free to quit or will be compulsorily retired.


About the Author