Published On: Fri, May 17th, 2019

20 IT principal chief commissioners transferred

New Delh: The Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) has announced transfer postings of 20 principal chief commissioners of Income Tax Department amid Lok Sabha elections.

CBDT Chairman Pramod Chandra Mody

A CBDT official told ANI that Monday’s order was issued after the Election Commission’s approval.

According to CBDT officials, among the 20 principal chief commissioners (Pr CCIT), 14 officers were promoted on “in situ basis” to the rank on March 9, a day before the Lok Sabha elections were announced and the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) came into effect.

Rest 6 Pr CCITs have been transferred to new places.

Six principal chief commissioners currently posted at Patna, Pune, Mumbai, Kolkata and Bhubaneswar and Sikkim have been transferred — four to New Delhi, one to Kochi and one to Kolkata.

In addition to these transfers and postings, 16 Pr CCITs and Chief Commissioners have been given additional charge of 38 various posts of IT department across the country.


About the Author

Live Updates COVID-19 CASES