Rajasekharan sworn in as Mizoram Governor

Aizawl: Kummanam Rajasekharan, who was the BJP’s Kerala unit chief for three years, was today sworn-in as the 18th governor of Mizoram at the Durbar hall of Raj Bhavan here.

Kummanam Rajasekharan was today sworn-in as the Governor of Mizoram.

Gauhati High Court Chief Justice Ajit Singh administered the oath of office to the new governor in the presence of Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, his cabinet colleagues, Assembly speaker Hiphei, Chief Secretary Arvind Ray among other senior officials.

Rajasekharan began his career as an activist of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) in the 1970s. He was anointed the president of Kerala BJP unit in 2015.

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed him as the governor of Mizoram last Friday.

Mizoram has had eight governors since NDA came to power in 2014.

Rajasekharan succeeded Lt. General Nirbhay Sharma, whose tenure ended yesterday.

Sharma was accorded farewell at the Raj Bhavan before he left for Delhi.