Deepak Kumar appointed Bihar Chief Secretary

Patna: Deepak Kumar, a 1984 batch IAS officer, was today appointed as the new Chief Secretary of Bihar.

Deepak Kumar was appointed as Bihar Chief Secretary, which will come into effect from May 31, 2018.

Kumar’s appointment will come into effect from May 31, 2018, a notification issued by General Administration Department (GAD) said.

Kumar- who was appointed as Development Commissioner a few weeks ago would take over from the incumbent Chief Secretary Anjani Kumar Singh, who will retire from the service on May 31.

With Deepak Kumar’s elevation as Chief Secretary, the 1985 batch IAS officer Shashi Shekhar Sharma has been made new Development Commissioner in the state.

The GAD notification said that Sharma’s appointment will also come into effect from May 31.

Sharma, who has been holding the additional charge of Director General of Bihar Institute of Public Administration and Rural Development (BIPARD), will continue to hold it, the notification said.

As per the GAD notification, a 1985 batch IAS officer Tripurari Sharan, who is currently on leave, has been posted as Principal Secretary, Environment and Forests Department. He has also been given additional charge of vigilance department.

GAD has also issued notification for transfer and posting of nine other IAS officers who have been either appointed as Principal Secretaries of other departments, given additional charge or made Divisional Commissioners of Darbhanga, Magadh and Purnea Commissionaries.