Former DoPT Secretary Bhanu P Sharma appointed chairman of BBB

Former DoPT Secretary Bhanu Pratap Sharma was today appointed as the Chairman of the Banks Board Bureau (BBB).

New Delhi: The government today appointed former DoPT Secretary Bhanu Pratap Sharma as Chairman of the Banks Board Bureau (BBB).

He replaces Vinod Rai, who was appointed as the first chairnman of BBB for a two year term.

While announcing the appointment, Financial Services Secretary Rajiv Kumar said Sharma will have the same mandate as was given Rai.

Sharma has been appointed for two years.

“Govt renews commitment to not interfere in Sr level appointments in PSBs,” Kumar said in a tweet while announcing the new appointment.

He said the new BBB has professionals with diverse expertise to select top management in public sector banks (PSBs).

BBB recommendations made so far include HR reforms agenda to be taken forward, Kumar added.

The other members of the BBB are: Vedika Bhandarkar (former MD Credit Suisse India), P Pradeep Kumar (former MD SBI) and Pradip P Shah (founder MD Crisil).

The Bureau was set up by the government in 2016 as a body of eminent professionals and officials, replacing the Appointments Board for appointment of Whole-time Directors as well as non-Executive Chairman of PSBs.