Major changes in voluntary retirement rules for babus

New Delhi: The government has effected major changes in service rules for bureaucrats seeking voluntary retirement which include putting a timeline to deal with such requests, among others.

Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions Jitendra Singh
Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions Jitendra Singh

The request of voluntary retirement by an IAS and IPS officers will not be kept pending beyond the notice period mentioned by them in such requests, as per new rules formed by the Ministry of Personnel.

If the competent authorities don’t issue any order before the expiry of the notice period specified by a service member, the voluntary retirement shall become effective from the date of expiry of the said period, according to the new rules.

“Provided that, where no order is issued by the competent authority, then after the expiry of the period specified in the notice, the central government may issue orders,” the rules state.

The new rules are applicable on three all-India services– Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Forest Service (IFoS).

Existing rules allow a service member to retire before attaining 60 years age of superannuation, after giving three months’ notice in writing to the state government concerned, on the date on which he or she completes 20 years of qualifying service or any date thereafter to be specified in such requests.

The move assumes significance as there were complaints of alleged harassment by few bureaucrats who claimed that their requests were kept pending for long time.

The new rules also allow bureaucrats to take back their voluntary retirement request.

The request for withdrawal of notice of voluntary retirement shall be submitted to the competent authority within the period mentioned in the notice, the rules said.

Earlier rules allowed an IAS, IPS or IFoS officer to withdraw notice of voluntary retirement only “after it is accepted by the state government”.