Home General 14 per cent voting till 10 AM

14 per cent voting till 10 AM

by Manish Sen
0 comment

Dehradun: Polling began to 69 of a total 70 assembly seats in Uttarakhand with 14 per cent voters exercising their franchise by 10 AM today.

Polling began to 69 of a total 70 assembly seats in Uttarakhand with 14 per cent voters exercising their vote by 10 AM today.

People show their inked finger after casting their vote at a polling booth in Dehradun.

The crowds outside polling booths is likely to thicken as the day advances, an official at the state election office here said.

Polling schedule for Karnaprayag seat in Chamoli district has been revised to March 9 due to the death of BSP candidate Kuldeep Singh Kanwasi in a road accident on Sunday last.

Over 74 lakh voters will seal the fate of 628 candidates in EVM machines between 8 AM to 5 PM when polling concludes, state Election office informed.

All arrangements are in place to ensure free and fair elections in the state with a deployment of nearly 30,000 security personnel and 60,000 polling officials on a total of 10,685 booths across Uttarakhand out of which 460 are in snowbound areas.

On most of the seats ruling Congress and BJP are locked in straight contests but rebel candidates of both parties who have entered the fray as independents may play a crucial role in upsetting the calculations of the official nominees of their respective parties.

12 former Congress MLAs contesting as BJP candidates and two former BJP MLAs travelling in Congress boat have made these elections interesting.

Chief minister Harish Rawat who is seeking a second stint in office is contesting from two seats, Haridwar (rural) and Kichha in Udhamsingh Nagar district.

BJP heavyweight Satpal Maharaj is contesting from Chaubatakhal whereas Pradesh BJP president Ajay Bhatt is battling it out in Ranikhet.

Making corruption its main poll plank BJP has asked people to vote for change whereas Congress is seeking a second term in power to carry out unfinished development work.


You may also like

About Us

The Sen Times, India’s first and largest online newspaper established its place in the media scene of India in 2010. It started its online journey in 2012 with a sense of challenge and a feeling of humility to serve the bureaucrats and public servants as a truly independent newspaper for them.

Latest News

Popular News

Copyright © 2022 Sen Times Group Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved.
%d bloggers like this: