Sanjay Singh appointed Member Secretary, Law Commission

New Delhi: Former legislative secretary Sanjay Singh has been appointed as Member Secretary, Law Commission of India.

President Pranab Mukherjee
President Pranab Mukherjee

has appointed Singh to the post for a period upto August 31, 2018, an official order said.

Singh, a retired officer of Indian Legal Service, was in August 2014, appointed as legislative secretary.

The tenure of Twenty-first Law Commission, which was constituted on September 1, 2015 is till August 31, 2018.

The Law Commission of India is mandated to identify laws which are no longer needed or relevant and can be immediately repealed.

Besides, it is tasked with identifying laws which are not in harmony with the existing climate of economic liberalisation and need change, and examination of the existing laws with a view for promoting gender equality and suggesting amendments thereto, among others.