Thursday, August 11, 2022
HomeAppointmentFour judges sworn in as Supreme Court judges

Four judges sworn in as Supreme Court judges

New Delhi: Justices Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar, D Y Chandrachud, Ashok Bhushan and L Nageshwar Rao were today sworn in as Supreme Court judges, taking the apex court’s strength to 29, including Chief Justice T S Thakur.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Justice Shri Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar.
Madhya Pradesh Chief Justice Shri Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar.

They were administered the oath of office by CJI Thakur this morning.

Justices Khanwilkar, Chandrachud and Bhushan were the Chief Justices of Madhya Pradesh High Court, Allahabad High Court and Kerala High Court, respectively.

Justice Rao, who was a senior advocate and former Additional Solicitor General, has been elevated as an apex court judge from the bar.

The sanctioned strength of judges in the apex court is 31, including the CJI. There is only one woman judge in the Supreme Court Justice R Banumathi.

The elevation of the four judges were the first set of recommendations made by the Supreme Court Collegium after the National Judicial Appointments Commission Act which sought to scrap the collegium system was struck down by an SC bench in October last year.

The apex court will also see five judges retiring this year, including Justice A R Dave who will retire on November 18, Justice F M I Kalifulla on July 22, Justice V Gopala Gowda on October 5, Justice Shiva Kirti Singh on November 12 and Justice C Nagappan on October 3. The Chief Justice of India will retire on January 3, 2017.

Former ASG L Nageshwar Rao is the fourth member from the Bar recommended for Supreme Court judgeship by the collegium after the Narendra Modi government came to power in 2014.

In 2014, U U Lalit and R F Nariman were appointed as SC judges, but the government had returned the file of former Solicitor General Gopal Subramanium citing negative Intelligence Bureau report.

Justice Khanwilkar was appointed as the Chief Justice of the Madhya Pradesh High Court on November 24, 2013. Prior to this, he was appointed the Chief Justice of the Himachal Pradesh High Court on April 4, 2013.

He became the Additional Judge of the Bombay High Court on March 29, 2000 and permanent judge on April 8, 2002.


Lateset News

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: