Published On: Fri, Mar 25th, 2016

ACB chief Meena doesn’t get relieving order, decision on April 1

New Delhi: LG-appointed Delhi Anti-Corruption Branch (ACB) chief M K Meena, who was issued a transfer order by the Union Home Ministry last month, has not been relieved from his post and a decision in this regard has been deferred till April 1.

ACB Chief M K Meena

ACB Chief M K Meena

Meena, who has been repeatedly accused by AAP government of stalling its fight against corruption, was transferred along with 13 other senior Delhi Police officials on February 17, well over a month ago.

A joint commissioner of New Delhi district here, Meena is an officer of 1989-batch AGMUT cadre. His name along with that of one other senior official, Shweta Chauhan, was not there in the relieving order issued on March 23, an official source said.

The source said the final decision on Meena’s posting, slated to be the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, will be taken on April 1.

In the past three years, Meena was scheduled to have been transferred to Arunachal Pradesh and Andaman and Nicobar Islands, but in both cases the orders were cancelled, the source said.

Under current rules, any officer under the Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram-Union Territories (AGMUT) cadre has to take at least three “hard” postings, which include serving at places like Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

While the first hard posting has a minimum tenure of three years, the subsequent ones last for two years, a senior police official said.

The relieving order issued on March 23 includes the name of Special Commissioner (Traffic) Muktesh Chander, who has been transferred to Goa. DCP (South) Prem Nath, who was initially heading the probe in the JNU row and was also a member of the SIT probing the Sunanda Pushkar case, has been transferred to Mizoram.

S K Gautam (Joint Commissioner-Central), who was probing the controversial protest outside the RSS office here in which the protesters were allegedly assaulted, has been transferred to Puducherry.

The relieving order also mentions the names of seven other officers.

Two officers, T S Luthra (Joint Commissioner-rank) and Deepak Gauri (Additional DCP), have already left to join their new postings.


About the Author