Published On: Thu, Oct 29th, 2015

Seventh Pay Commissiom may propose maximum pay Rs 180,000; minimum Rs 20,000

New Delhi: The Seventh pay commission is likely to recommend fixing the highest basic salary at Rs 180,000 and the lowest at Rs 20,000 for the central government employees.

Seventh Pay Commission Secretary Meena Agarwal

Seventh Pay Commission Secretary Meena Agarwal

The pay panel will also suggest 10 grade pays in the pay structure instead of 15 grades pays, as it is now.

“The Seventh pay commission is going to propose raising the basic salary to Rs 20,000 from existing Rs 6660 for the lowest grade and Rs 180,000 from Rs 80,000 for the highest as the pay panel is considering pay ratio of the pay of the bottom paid employees to the pay of the highest paid officials to come down to 1:9 from 1:12,” highly-placed sources in the pay panel said.

The commission will hand over its proposals to the finance minister Arun Jaitley within December 31.

A secretary-level committee will be formed to review the pay commission recommendations in the next year before cabinet approval it for implementations.

The pay panel is likely to suggest for abolishing five grade pays of middle level government officials and likely to marge lower grade pay to upper grade pay among the five grade pays, the sources said.

A grade pay is a structured pay format where employees are placed at a given pay level based on their level of education and work experience related to the position.

No matter when the recommendations are finalised, the new pay scales will be made effective from January 1 next year, the sources asserted.

The Seventh Pay Commission, headed by Justice A K Mathur, was appointed by the previous UPA government in February 2014 and its recommendations are scheduled to take effect from January 1, 2016.

Meena Agarwal is the secretary of the Commission. Other members are Vivek Rae, a retired IAS officer of 1978 batch and Rathin Roy, an economist.

The Seventh Pay Commission was appointed for 18 months, its terms was extended in August 2015 by four months till December 31, 2015.

The government constitutes the Pay Commission almost every 10 years to revise the pay scale of its employees and often these are adopted by states after some modifications.

As part of the exercise, the Commission holds discussions with various stakeholders, including organisations, federations, groups representing civil employees as well as Defence services.

The Sixth Pay Commission was implemented with effect from January 1, 2006, the fifth from January 1, 1996 and the fourth from January 1, 1986.


Any unauthorized use or reproduction of The Sen Times above content for any purpose is strictly prohibited and constitutes copyright infringement liable to legal action.

About the Author