Delhi ACB gives details of 35 arrested officials

New Delhi: Days after the Opposition BJP questioned the ACB’s claim that 35 officials have been arrested on corruption charges, the AAP government came out with a department-wise list.

Delhi Anti-Corruption Branch Chief M K Meena
Delhi Anti-Corruption Branch Chief M K Meena

The Anti-Corruption Branch today said they have arrested maximum of 12 officials from the excise department, nine from Delhi Jal Board and seven from the education department.

The ACB data shows that they have so far arrested three officials from the agricultural produce market committee (APMC), two officials from MCD and one each from PWD and Delhi Police.

Earlier this month, BJP sought details from the government on the arrests.

Delhi government advertisements claim 35 officials were arrested and 152 suspended since the anti-corruption helpline was re-launched two months ago.

According to BJP, the ACB has refused to furnish the information on the details in a RTI reply and suggested that the reply be sought from the Vigilance department.

According to the RTI reply, 282 calls were received by the anti-corruption branch on helpline 1031 up to May 13 this year and seven cases have been registered.