8 graft convicts dismissed from govt service

Yavatmal: In the wake of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis’s order to remove graft case convicts from government service, eight employees in the district have been dismissed, officials said today.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis
Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis
Seven talathis from the Revenue Department and one Assistant Engineer of Zilla Parishad Public Works Department were dismissed from the service on Friday, district officials said.

The talathis were identified as Jagdish Meshram, Narayan Pawar, Vishnu Wadatkar, Milind Kale, Kailas Jadhav, Dinkar Khadatkar and Mohan Chanden, while the engineer was identified as Aravind Zade, they said adding that the action was taken by the concerned head of departments.

The court had convicted them in bribery cases. These employees had been kept under suspension on their arrest by the Anti Corruption Bureau (ACB). However, all of them were reinstated after six months and they continued to work in the department even after their conviction, they said.

On Tuesday, Fadnavis had directed the state Chief Secretary Swadheen Kshatriya to remove those who are still in government service despite being convicted in corruption cases. He said he gave this order after he 37 such cases came to his notice.