Modi govt yet to take a call on appointing Election Commissioner

New Delhi: The Narendra Modi government is yet to take a call on appointing an Election Commissioner to fill up the vacancy created by the elevation of Hari Shankar Brahma as the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC).

CEC H S Brahma
CEC H S Brahma
After V S Sampath demitted the CEC’s office on January 15, Brahma was elevated as the head of the poll watchdog the next day.

So far the Law Ministry has not initiated the file for the appointment of the Election Commissioner, sources said here.

Originally, the Commission had only a Chief Election Commissioner. It currently consists of the CEC and two Election Commissioners.

For the first time, the two additional Commissioners were appointed on October 16, 1989. The concept of multi-member Commission has been in operation since then, with decision- making power by majority vote.

The President appoints the CEC and the ECs. They have a tenure of six years, or up to the age of 65 years, which ever is earlier.

They enjoy the same status and receive salary and perks as available to judges of the Supreme Court.