Assam CM Gogoi appoints Jyotirmoy Chakravarty as first Police Commissioner of Guwahati

Guwahati: The Tarun Gogoi-led congress government of Assam on Tuesday appointed Additional Director General of Police Jyotirmoy Chakravarty as the first Police Commissioner of Guwahati city with effect from January 1 next year.

Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi
Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi
“In the interest of public service, Jyotirmoy Chakravarty, ADGP (TAP), is transferred and posted as Commissioner of Police, Guwahati,” an official release said.

The present DIG of CWR NMASF Haque has been appointed as the Joint Commissioner of Police, Guwahati.

The government has appointed all police officers under the Commissioner of Police not below the rank of Assistant Commissioner of Police as Executive Magistrates with jurisdiction within the said metropolitan area and they shall exercise and perform their powers and duties under the general control of the Commissioner of Police, Guwahati.

On December 25, Assam government had said it passed an order to create Police Commissionerate for the state capital with effect from January 1 next year.

The Police Commissioner of the city will be conferred with all the powers of a District Magistrate and will be of rank equivalent to Inspector General of Police or above, exercising his power and functions directly under the Director General of Police, Assam.

Besides, the government has constituted three police districts headed by a Deputy Commissioner of Police for each district.

The three police districts will be East Police District, Central Police District and West Police District demarcating each area of functioning as well as their respective territorial jurisdiction.