Published On: Mon, May 18th, 2020

Maharashtra CM takes oath as MLC

Mumbai: Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and eight other newly-elected MLCs took oath as Members of Legislative Council on Monday.

Uddhav Thackeray today took oath as MLC.

The nine candidates were on May 14 elected unopposed to the state Legislative Council.

The poll results were declared as only nine nominations were filed for nine seats.

Apart from Thackeray, Council Deputy Chairperson Neelam Gorhe (Shiv Sena), four candidates of BJP – Ranjitsinh Mohite Patil, Gopichand Padalkar, Praveen Datke and Ramesh Karad; NCP’s Shashikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari and Congress’s Rajesh Rathod were elected for the nine seats, which fell vacant on April 24.

The 288-member legislative assembly was the electoral college for the biennial elections to the nine seats.

With this oath, 59-year-old Thackeray, who is also the president of Shiv Sena, makes his debut as a legislator.

He was sworn in as chief minister on November 28 last year and required to become a member of either house of the legislature before May 27.


About the Author