Published On: Fri, Dec 13th, 2019

10 police officials transferred in Assam

Guwahati: The Assam government has transferred 10 officials in the rank of superintendent of police in the wake of the violent protest across the state over the amended Citizenship Act, an official order said here on Friday.

Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal

SP (SB) Aparna N was posted as SP Majuli district in place of Hitesh Ch Ray, who is shifted as Commandant 9th APBn Barhampur, Nagaon.

The Commandant of 9th APBn Barhampur Rajmohan Ray has been shifted to Guwahati Police as the DCP (Operations).

Mugdhajyoti Dev Mahanta, the SP of Cachar district, will be the new SP of Sonitpur, the order said.

Sonitpur’s SP Kumar Sanjit Krishna is posted as SP of Karimganj in place of Manabendra Dev Ray, who will be the new SP of Cachar.

Rajveer of the Railway Police’s SP has become the SP of Lakhimpur, while Harekrishna Nath will move from Lakhimpur to 2nd APBn Makum as its Commandant.

The Commandant of the 2nd APBn Makum Singharam Mili is transferred to Bongaigaon as the new SP, while Subodh Kumar Sonowal will move as SP of Railway Police from SP Bongaigaon.

Three Additional Director General of Police and several Superintendents of Police were transferred on Thursday.

Assam has been on the boil for the past several days as thousands of people have come out on the streets to protest against the amendment of the Citizenship Act. Two persons were killed in police firing in the state on Thursday.

The amended Citizenship Act will grant Indian citizenship to non-Muslim refugees from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan if they faced religious persecution there.

They will be given Indian citizenship after residing in the country for five years.

Indigenous people of the Northeastern states are scared that the entry of these people will endanger their identity and livelihood.



About the Author