Published On: Tue, Nov 26th, 2019

21 more ‘corrupt’ Income Tax officers compulsorily retired

New Delhi: The government has compulsorily retired 21 more “corrupt” Income Tax officers in the fifth tranche of its crackdown on errant officials accused of corruption and other malpractices, finance ministry sources said. With these, total number of tax officers ‘compulsorily retired’ has gone up to 85 this year.

Representative Image

The Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) compulsorily retired 21 Group B officers of the rank of Income Tax Officer under Fundamental Rule 56 (J) in the public interest due to corruption and other charges and CBI traps, they said.

Sacked officials were posted in places such as Raja Mundry, Visahakapatnam, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Thane, Nagpur, Hazaribagh, Rajkot, Jodhpur, Bikaner, Sawai Madhopur, Ujjain and Bhopal.

Under 56 (j), the performance of an officer who has turned 50 or 55 or has completed 30 years of service (whichever is earlier) is being reviewed to ascertain if he/she is liable for compulsory retirement.

Such compulsorily retired officials will be paid a sum equivalent to their pay and allowances for three months, calculated at the same rate at which she/he was drawing immediately before retirement.

Such an action is considered as a penalty and the government believes that it will act as a deterrent for others indulging in corruption. At present, the retirement age for tax officials is 60 years.

The loss of 10 years of service means loss in terms of the benefits and perks for that period and, more importantly, a lifelong loss of honour.


About the Author