Published On: Sun, Mar 10th, 2019

Rahul maintains silence on announcement of Lok Sabha poll schedule

New Delhi: Even as the scores of senior leaders from various political parties reacted soon after the Election Commission (EC) announced the dates for Lok Sabha elections, Congress president Rahul Gandhi has chosen to maintain silence till now.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi

Senior leaders like Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Rahul’s BJP counterpart Amit Shah, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, UP Chief Minister Adityanath, BSP chief Mayawati, AAP chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, and Aditya Thackrey are among the leaders who took to Twitter to share their reactions.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi neither tweeted from his official handle nor from that of the Congress party. While a random poem was posted on the official twitter handle of Congress

Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday announced the schedule for 17th Lok Sabha election, which will be held in seven phases beginning April 11.

The final phase of voting will take place on May 19.

The counting of votes will be done on May 23

The Lok Sabha elections in India are the biggest democratic exercise in the world. Indian electorates will be voting to elect Member of Parliament (MP) for 543 Lok Sabha constituencies.


About the Author