Published On: Thu, Apr 14th, 2016

CBI gets Rajya Sabha Chairman’s nod to prosecute MP in LTC scam

New Delhi: In a first for the Rajya Sabha, Chairman Hamid Ansari gave sanction to the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) to prosecute Janata Dal (United) MP Anil Kumar Sahani in Leave Travel Concession (LTC) scam.

Anil Kumar Sahani

Janata Dal (United) MP Anil Kumar Sahani

The sanction has been given under section 197 of the CrPC (Code of Criminal Procedure), which is a pre-requisite for the prosecution of a public servant.

While this is a first for the Rajya Sabha, such sanction has been given only twice earlier in the Lok Sabha. The first was in 2010 when then Speaker Meira Kumar gave sanction against Congress MP Rajaram Pal in the cash-for-query scam. A year later, she gave a sanction to Delhi Police against BJP MP Ashok Argal in the cash-for-vote case.

CBI  filed a charge sheet on November 23 against Sahani, a MP from Bihar and three others in the alleged LTC scam that broke out in 2013 with the probe agency claiming they caused a loss of Rs 23.71 lakh to the exchequer.

During investigation, CBI found that Sahani in conspiracy with other persons allegedly used forged e-tickets and fake boarding passes to defraud Rajya Sabha to the tune of Rs 23.71 lakh as travel and dearness allowance reimbursement without performing the actual journey.


About the Author