Published On: Fri, Feb 19th, 2016

Bureau of Indian Standards officials sentenced to 2 years on graft charges

Chennai: A CBI Special Court here today sentenced two officials of the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) to two years rigorous imprisonment for graft-related charges.

CBI Director Anil Kumar Sinha

CBI Director Anil Kumar Sinha

According to a CBI release, The CBI Anti-Corruption wing filed a case against Bureau of Indian Standards Scientist (Grade E), G Venkata Narayanan, and Dealing officer (Marks department), P M Murali, following allegations that the duo entered into a “criminal conspiracy” to demand and accept “gratification” from manufacturers of packaged drinking water plants for processing and recommending their applications.

The agency filed a charge sheet against the duo before the Special Judge Court, Chennai, under IPC section 120-B (punishment for criminal conspiracy) read with other relevant sections and Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988.

Additional Special Judge for CBI Cases S Jawahar sentenced the duo to undergo two years rigorous imprisonment each and slapped a fine of Rs 30,000 on them, it said.


About the Author