Published On: Mon, Dec 28th, 2015

EC directs transfer of Tamil Nadu poll officials with long tenure

Chennai: The Election Commission has directed the Tamil Nadu government to transfer officials who have been holding the same posts for three of more than three years.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi

This is to ensure that the assembly elections are held in a free and fair manner in the state in 2016.

In a communique dated December 15, the Election Commission asked the state chief electoral officer Rajesh Lakhoni to issue an order transferring such officials.

Officials who come under the purview of the three-year condition include district election officers, deputy district election officers, returning officers, assistant returning officers, additional district magistrates, deputy collectors, sub-divisional magistrates, tehsildars, block development officers and any other officer proposed to be deployed for election work.


About the Author