Published On: Sat, Jun 13th, 2015

Pradeep Kumar Sinha takes over as Cabinet Secretary

NEW DELHI: Pradeep Kumar Sinha, a 1977-batch IAS officer from Uttar Pradesh cadre, assumed charge as the new Cabinet Secretary today.

New Cabinet Secretary Pradeep Kumar Sinha takes charge from his predecessor Ajit Kumar Seth (right).

New Cabinet Secretary Pradeep Kumar Sinha takes charge from his predecessor Ajit Kumar Seth (right).
Photo : PTI

The 60-year old Sinha, who will head Cabinet Secretariat, the agency which coordinates functions among various union ministries, will have a fixed tenure of two years.

He replaced Ajit Kumar Seth, a 1974-batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre, who retired today after serving in the post for four years, including three extensions.

Seth had taken over as Cabinet Secretary on June 14, 2011 with a fixed tenure upto June 13, 2013. The UPA government had extended his tenure by a year. The Modi-government had given six-month extension to Seth in June. He was due to retire on December 13 and then he was given another extension of six months, which expired today.

He was given a warm send-off by Prime Minister Narendra Modi who wished him all the best for his future. “After a distinguished career spanning 4 decades, Cabinet Secretary Shri Ajit Seth retired today. Best wishes for the new phase in his life,” PM tweeted.

PM Modi also appreciated Seth’s initiative for cleanliness.

“Ajit Sethji shared with me about ‘Art in Steps’, a unique initiative at Cabinet Secretariat to promote art & spread message of cleanliness,” he tweeted.

Sinha was earlier OSD in the Cabinet Secretariat and also served as Power Secretary and Shipping Secretary.

He has served in different capacities at the Centre as well as in states.

The Cabinet secretariat is under the direct charge of the Prime Minister. The administrative head of the secretariat is the Cabinet Secretary who is also the ex-officio chairman of the Civil Services Board.

Read Also: Pradeep Kumar Sinha appointed new Cabinet Secretary


About the Author