Published On: Thu, Mar 5th, 2015

Centre approves IAS officers’ allocation for Andhra Pradesh, Telangana

New Delhi: The Centre has approved allocation of IAS officers for the newly-formed state of Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh.

Pratyush Sinha, Chief of allocation panel

Pratyush Sinha, Chief of allocation panel

A total of 133 officers of Indian Administrative Service (IAS) have been allocated Telangana cadre, whereas 161 have been given Andhra Pradesh, a gazette notification issued today by the Ministry of Personnel said.

The allocation of the IAS officers is based upon the recommendation by a six-member committee headed by former Central Vigilance Commissioner Pratyush Sinha.

Earlier, Andhra Pradesh had a total authorised strength of 376 IAS officers.

The Personnel Ministry has also issued a notification mentioning the name and batch of the IAS officers along with their newly allocated cadres.

Telangana, the country’s 29th state, came into existence on June 2, last year and started functioning from that day. Parliament had given its approval on February 20 for the creation of Telangana through the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.


About the Author